skip navigation

Hillcrest Boys Basketball Awards

By Craig Olson, 04/08/23, 4:45PM CDT


On Wednesday, April 5, the Hillcrest boys’ basketball team got together to celebrate a basketball season that was highly successful.  The Comets ended the season with an overall record of 20-8 and a Little Eight Conference mark of 12-4.  “What a joy this season was,” said Hillcrest Head Coach Ryan Garvin. “In the heat of the year, it's difficult to appreciate and celebrate even singular moments, so it's a gift to reflect on the season that our boys’ basketball teams had this year.”

Garvin continued, “We also reflected on our WE A.I.M. theme and talked about our focus on attitude, intensity and mission throughout the year and how our devotional reading of Titus 1, 2 and 3 really hammered home what it looked like to refine our attitude and intensity or focus so that we always came back to the mission: that of not getting in the way of the gospel, the good news of Jesus, wherever we go.”

Some notable individual records included: First Team Little Eight All-Conference honors for Noah Brumfield and Luke Christensen, and a Section Team Little Eight All-Conference selection for Justin Peterson.

Awards went to Luke Christensen (190 rebounds, Most Improved Player, Free Throw Champion, Sharp Shooter), Erik Bjorndahl (6th Man Award), Preston Berge (Most Coachable, Chris Paul Award – 1.49 assist/turnover ratio), Gabe Swedenburg (Clamp Defensive Award), Matthew Knutson (Honey Badger Award), Nathan Aanes (Galvanizer Award), and Noah Brumfield (MVP – 613 points, 21.9ppg, 56.2% Effective Field Goal Percentage, 177 rebounds, 6.3rpg, 66 assists, 71 deflections, 67 steals).

“Friend of the program Cody Aasness says, ‘it’s better to be a plow in the ground than a flash in the pan’,” said Coach Garvin.  “This is awarded to any player on the team for their commitment to being in the gym and working to get better whether it is morning or evening shooting sessions, summer workouts or practices. Two years ago, Noah Bjorndahl won the award. Last year, Sam Brumfield. This year, Kian Stender.”

The 2022-2023 Captains will be returners Noah Brumfield and Luke Christensen. “We're looking forward to a great off-season,” concluded Garvin.