skip navigation

Zierden Takes Runner-up Honors in Triple Jump, Magaard Wins AA Girls Discus Title

By Craig Olson, 06/07/24, 2:30PM CDT


Fergus Falls senior Shane Zierden claimed runner-up honors in the Class AA Triple Jump competition at the State Track and Field Meet at St. Michael-Albertville High School on Friday.  Zierden had a jump of 46-feet-5-and-3/4-inches.  He will compete in the Long Jump finals on Saturday.  Otter junior Jaden Miller qualified for the finals in the 800 meter run with a personal best time of 1:57.98, the fifth fastest qualifying time.

Perham junior Bjorn Anderson finished eighth in the 3200 meter run (9:31.35).


Elise Magaard of Alexandria is the Class AA Girls Discus champion with a throw of 128-feet-2-inches.  Here teammate, Amaria Sowada (110-09) came in seventh in the competition.  Cardinals distance runner Citori Halbe finished 6th in the 3200 meter run with a time of 11:05.79.

Sophomore Ruby Ellison (4-11.00) of Fergus Falls did not place in the high jump.  The 4x100 meter relay team (51.09) of Ellison, Siiri Smestad, Mayah Fear and Rachel DeBrito did not qualify for the finals.

Alexandria qualified their girls 4x200 meter relay team of Payten Kor, Alison Krasky, Kaia Emter and Kaija Schneider for finals on Saturday with a 7th place finish (1:44.16) in the prelims, and their 4x400 team (4:00.24) of Krasky, Greta Oldenkamp, Kasey Soderholm and Jaelyn Miller qualified for finals with the fifth fastest time in the prelims.

Krasky qualified seventh (59.19) for the 400 meter dash finals, Sophia Korynta was fifth in the preliminary race for the 300 meter hurdles (46.46), and in the 800 meter run Jaelyn Miller (2:15.71) and Kasey Soderholm (2:18.06) qualified 4th and 9th, respectively.

Otto Anderson of the Cardinals qualified 6th (14.83) in the 110 hurdles and fourth (38.78) in the 300 meter hurdles.  Anderson, Hunter Mohr, Throck Lehmann and Owen Draper are on the 4x400 relay team (3:27.09) that qualified seventh.  Alexandria also qualified their 4x200 meter relay team (1:28.98) of Trey Negen, Evan Kludt, Dane Olson and Elliott Kent with a 2nd place in the prelims, and the 4x100 meter relay team (42.12) of Negen, Kludt, Olson and Macklen Heydt with a runner-up finish in the preliminary race on Friday.