skip navigation

Fergus Falls Boys Hockey Awards

By Craig Olson, 04/02/24, 9:45AM CDT


The Fergus Falls boys’ hockey team celebrated their season with the end of season banquet recently.  “The guys had a lot to be proud of with their accomplishments,” said Head Coach Mike Donaghue.  “The seniors added to the tradition of Otter hockey over their careers through their hard work, character, and overall commitment to being an Otter!”


Kellen Stenstrom, the recipient of the Anderson/Lake MVP award, moved into 4th place on the all-time scoring list with 147 points.  Stenstrom also set records for the fastest goal to start a period, five seconds in a game against Alexandria on February 15, and tied the mark for most goals in a game when he found the back of the net 5 times in a January 27 game against Mankato East.

Roger Johnson Award winner Shane Zierden established a new record for fastest goal to start a game when he scored 9 seconds into the December 28 game against New Ulm.  Zierden and Stenstrom were named to the Central Lakes Conference All-Conference team and they were co-recipients of the Lee Franklin Scholarship.

Leighton Buckmeier, Jack Welde and Michael Schmidt were All-Conference Honorable Mention selections.

Stenstrom was also named 1st team All-Section 6A, while Buckmeier was 2nd team All-Section.  Zierden, Welde and Schmidt were All-Section Honorable Mention choices.

Other varsity awards went to Riley McGovern (Most Improved Player), Griffin Babolian (Most Inspirational Player, Ultimate Teammate Scholarship), Leighton Buckmeier (Hobey Baker Character Award) and Kellen Stenstrom (Outstanding Senior).

Junior Varsity awards were presented to Simon McGovern (Most Improved Player) and Brant Scheuerman (Most Valuable Player).