skip navigation

Brandon-Evansville Volleyball (Season Recap)

By Gina Christopherson, 11/29/23, 3:00PM CST


The Brandon-Evansville Volleyball team wrapped up its season on Monday, November 27 with a banquet and awards at the Evansville Community Center. The varsity team finished the season 11-12.

"We learned a lot about each other as we worked to improve communication and team spirit," commented Head Coach Gina Christopherson. "While we weren't always coming out on top, we never gave up. This team fought for every ball and worked hard to finish every game strong. That is impressive."  


The JV/C team developed into stronger players with quicker feet, improved communication, and stronger volleyball IQ over the course of the season. "They started the year as a more timid group but finished the season with vigor and determination. Their overall growth was astounding to watch in playback of their games. I am very proud of what they were able to accomplish," said  Coach  Christopherson.

"Thank you to all of the Chargers, their families, and the community for your support this year. We, as a coaching staff, really appreciate all of your time, effort, support, and patience as we navigated this year as a new coaching staff. Thank you, thank you, thank you! Hope to see you all next season!"  from Coach Gina, Coach Kami, and Coach Shyanna. 

All Conference honors this year went to Seniors Kylee Dingwall and Taylor Suchy

The award recipients and their associated awards are as follows:

Courtney Brethorst: Iron Woman Award (as presented by Strength and Conditioning Coach CJ Maretto)
Taylor Dingwall: Outstanding Teammate
Kylee Dingwall: MVP
Drea Fernholz: Rookie of the Year and Captain's Award
Haddy Baune: Most Improved
Sarah Wagner: Full of Spirit
Mia Elmer: JV Player of the Year. 


The letterwinners for this season were: Back row L to R: Skylar Bitzan, Kylee Dingwall, Taylor Dingwall, Hallie Richter, Courtney Brethorst, and Claire Boesl; Front Row: L to R: Drea Fernholz, Haddy Baune, Ava Santjer Absent from the photo is Taylor Such

Award Winners (from L to R) Courtney Brethorst, Taylor Dingwall, Kylee Dingwall, Drea Fernholz, Haddy Baune, Sarah Wagner, Mia Elmer. PHOTO PROVIDED