skip navigation

McGovern Claims PLGC Men's Club Championship with Playoff Win Over Gervais

By Craig Olson, 08/09/23, 7:45AM CDT


Riley McGovern claimed the Men’s Club Championship at Pebble Lake Golf Club on Sunday when he defeated Trevor Gervais in a 2-hole playoff in driving rain.  Both golfers had turned in 45-hole tournament scores of 181.  McGovern held a one shot lead after the first 18 after firing a 69 to Gervais’ 70.  He maintained his one stroke advantage after 36-holes as both golfers turned in rounds of 74, and Gervais pulled even, forcing the playoff with a 37 on his final 9-holes, compared to McGovern’s 38.  Ryan Nelson and Lance Walvatne shot scores of 188, tying for third place and Matt Kennedy was fifth with a 190.  Lucas Gervais and Trevor Larson came next with scores of 191.  Charlie Fuder and Quinton Kuehl finished with scores of 197.

Tim Tostenson won the Men’s 1st Flight (18 holes) with a 151.  Second place went to Declan Young with a 155, third place to Jeremy Petrick with a 158 and fourth place to Jake Heck with a 159.  Isaac Young (162) and Jon Quernemoen (164) rounded out the 1st Flight scoring.

Adam Kennedy took first place in the Men’s 2nd Flight (18 holes) with a 157.  He was followed by Gavin Goepferd with a 165, Eric Bjorndahl with a 166, Gary Haffley with a 171 and Kurt Nygaard with a 174.

Chuck MacFarlane shot a 36-hole score of 153 to win the Men’s Senior Championship.  Gregg Western was runner-up with a 159 and John Hagge took third with a 164.  Dennis Bowman and Dan Walvatne tied for fourth at 171 and Craig Farstad shot a 203.

Jared Kennedy was the Junior Flight Winner, defeating Simon McGovern in a 2-hole playoff.  Their two 36-hole scores were 175.  Ruger Tonneson shot a 191 and Penn Shol, the youngest player in the tournament, came in with a 212.

Ana Jyrkas claimed the Women’s Club Championship with an 18-hole score of 179.