skip navigation

Brandon-Evansville Softball Season Ends with 11-4 Loss to Browerville

By Craig Olson, 05/24/23, 11:15AM CDT


The season ended on Tuesday for the Brandon-Evansville softball team when they fell to Browerville/Eagle Valley, 11-4, in the opening round of the Section 6A playoffs.  Eight errors proved to be the downfall for the Chargers, as all 11 runs scored by the Tigers were unearned.

“We knew coming into this game we were going to have to play an exceptional game in all areas to keep our season going,” stated Brandon-Evansville Head Coach Kasi Sieling. “Unfortunately, we weren’t able to do that and play a complete game tonight. We started out strong and were leading going into the bottom of the 5th after working out of a bases loaded situation in the 4th. In the 5th inning we just weren’t able to make the plays to get outs. Browerville did a nice job of putting the ball in play and putting the pressure on us to make plays and we gave them too many extra chances. Taylin Kramer (4.1IP, 8H, 10R, 0ER, 1BB, 3K) threw a great game and Kylee Dingwall (1.2IP, 1H, 1R, 0ER, 3K) did a nice job of stepping in to get us out of that inning and finish out the game. The girls battled until the very last out, which is all we can ask of our players.” 

Anna Myers drove in 4 runs for the Tigers and Abby Wolbeck added a pair of runs batted in.  Myers (2-4, 4RBI, R), Wolbeck (1-3, 2RBI), Lauren Schnettler (2-5, RBI, 2R) and Rhianna Buhl (2-3, RBI, 2R) were the hitting leaders for Browerville/Eagle Valley.  Chloe Lorentz (7IP, 8H,k 4R, 2ER, 1BB, 7K) was the winning pitcher.

Leaders at the plate for the Chargers were Madeline Stich (2-4, 2B, RBI), Kramer (2-3, BB, RBI), Kendra Klimek (1-3, 2RBI) and Hadley Baune (1-3, 2R).

“Even though this wasn’t how we wanted our season to end, these girls have a lot to be proud of,” added Coach Sieling. “This has been a tough spring in a lot of ways and they were able to win a share of the Little Eight Conference and make great memories together as a team. To our seniors, Taylin, Sydney Schaefer, Sophie Koep, Kendra and Kayla Bitzan-Anderson, we can never thank them enough for the time, work and dedication they have put into our program. These young women are all amazing people and are going to go on and do great things in their lives and I’m looking forward to seeing all they do.”