skip navigation

4 New Inductees to be Added to FF Sports Hall of Fame

By Tom Hintgen, 05/22/23, 2:30PM CDT


The Fergus Falls Sports Hall of Fame will have four new inductees in 2023.

They include Gary Eide, Otter athlete and member of the Fergus Falls High School Class of 1961; Steve Johnson, Otter and Spartan athlete and member of FFHS Class of 1969; Tom Johnson, national champion and record-holding archer and member of FFHS Class of 1973; and Kim Katzenmeyer, Otter and Univ. of Minnesota athlete and member of FFHS Class of 1982.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony will begin at 2 p.m. Saturday, July 29, on the south side of the Fergus Falls VFW. The public is invited to attend.

“With these three new inductees in 2023, this will bring our overall total of the Fergus Falls Sports Hall of Fame to 103 honorees,” says co-chair and ceremony MC Craig Olson.

Adds co-chair Tony Rendz, “We take pride in the diverse group of inductees over the years. In addition to traditional sports such as football, basketball, hockey and baseball, we also have inducted trap shooters, snowmobilers, barefoot water skiers, swimming instructors, Otter long-time sports fans, news media representatives, soccer coaches and others.

Following is a list of previous inductees along with the induction class of 2023.

1986 charter members: Duane Baglien, Charles Beck, Winfred Brockmeyer, Bill Colbeck, Fran Conito, Everett Faunce, Norm Galloway, Jack Halland, John Hermes, Hub Hovland, Jeff Jacobson, Barry Johnson, Clarence Lee, Oats LeGrand, Mel Olson, Harley Oyloe, Curt Reinan, Dave Retzlaff, Roger Sinner, Jerry Skogmo, Don Stueve, Jack Townley, Chuck Weiss, Wes Windmiller

1987: Karl Beck, Gene Donley, Rocky Elton, Carrie Hefte, Jim Henkes, Russ Johnson, Gloria Mielke, Noel Olson, George Sawyer, Muggs Townsend, Kate Weiby, Dick Werner

1990: Paul Bjorklund, Roland Bromberg, Les Drechsel, Paul Gust, Jr., Jim Morstad, Inga Nelson, Harry Olson, Carolyn Schmidt

1993: Roger Dell, Roland Harlow, Milt Papke, Earl Perkins

1998: Buzz Elliott, Craig Olson, Ann Williams

2001: Tim Cashman, Bill Foss, Mark Foss, Dave Lindig, Tom Uvaas

2004: Joe Edlund, Terry Harrington, Paige Johnson, Richard Risbrudt

2012: Mike Hilley, Len Kretchman, Jon Pontius, Carleen Rose Holm

2013: Greg Buckmeier, Michelle Danielson-Berger, Eric Ecker, Joe Gervais, John DeWitt, Sonny Mjelde, LeRoy Quernemoen

2017: Stacy Busack, Kevin Pearson, Jason Retzlaff, Steve Thorsen, Katie Weiss Hanneman

2018: Bob Bjorklund, Matt Brimhall, Kim Hanson Mansell, Ken Kothe, David Noyes, Blaine Rude, Kris Werner

2019: Justin Arneson, Scott Colbeck, Cindy Harthun Waasdorp, Linda Knutson Brophy, Jon Kretchman, Eric Loeffler

2020: Cathy Cranston, Larry Eisinger, Gordy Kvern, Mark Toso

2021: Tom Glorvigen, Matt Mortsad

2022: Hannah Draxten Clark, Mike Hurley, Paul Johnson and Tom Yuzer

2023: Gary Eide, Steve Johnson, Tom Johnson and Kim Katzenmeyer