skip navigation

Fergus Falls Boys Hockey Awards

By Craig Olson, 03/20/23, 10:30PM CDT


The Fergus Falls boys’ hockey team celebrated their 14-11-2 season, which ended in a runner-up finish in the Section 6A tournament, with their end of the year banquet last week.  “Though the season ended in heartbreak, there is much for the guys to be proud of,” said Head Coach Mike Donaghue.

Junior forward Kellen Stenstrom was the recipient of the Anderson/Lake MVP award, Gavin Goepferd was named the Most Improved Varsity Player, Jax Katzenmeyer was the Most Inspirational Player and Colin Becker was voted Outstanding Senior.  The Roger Johnson Award went to Joey Johnson and senior goalie Ben Swanson won the Hobey Baker Character Award.  Captains Plaques went to Swanson, Becker and Leighton Buckmeier.

Swanson and Becker each received Lee Franklin Scholarship awards, while Swanson and Stenstrom were named the All-Central Lakes Conference team.  Becker, Shane Zierden and Brayden Nelson were CLC Honorable Mention selections.  Swanson, Stenstrom and Becker were named to the All-Section 6A First Team.  All-Section Honorable Mention recognition went to Zierden, Buckmeier and Nelson.

Buckmeier, Stenstrom and Zierden will serve as 2023-24 Captains.

JV awards were presented to Wyatt Briese (Most Valuable Player) and Brock Scheuerman (Most Improved Player).