skip navigation

Pirates Defeat Wolverines in 8A Team Tennis Final

By Craig Olson, 10/13/21, 1:00PM CDT


Wadena-Deer Creek and Crookston squared off to decide the Section 8A girls’ tennis championship on Wednesday with the Pirates sweeping all three doubles matches on the way to a 5-2 victory over the Wolverines.

In the first round of individual singles action, Madison Packer defeated Hope Grafstrom of Roseau, 6-0, 6-0, and Libby Hartman won her match over Audrey Ruckheim of Parkers Prairie, 6-2, 6-1.  Packer then defeated Allison Knossalla 6-1, 6-0, and Hartman lost to Brekken Tull of Crookston 6-7(4), 6-3, 6-0.

In individual doubles competition, the team of Corra Endres and Anna Fiemeyer won their first round match against Reed/Blazek from Roseau, 6-1, 6-2, while the Roseau team of Danielson/Brandt defeated the Wolverines team of Katie Fiemeyer/Mercedes Schulz, 6-3, 1-6, 7-5.

#1 – Madison Packer (WDC) def. Hayden Winjum (CR) 6-2, 6-1
#2 – Halle Winjum (CR) def. Corra Endres (WDC) 6-0, 6-3
#3 – Libby Hartman (WDC) def. Brekken Tull (CR) 6-3, 6-2
#4 – Abby Borowicz (CR) def. Kayley Endres (WDC) 6-1, 6-1

#1 – Emma Osborn/ Emma Gunderson (CR) def. Katie Fiemeyer/Anna Fiemeyer (WDC) 6-3, 3-6, 6-4
#2 – Kaylie Clawson/Halle Bruggeman (CR) def. Mercedes Schulz/Kayla Meeks (WDC) 6-4, 7-5
#3 – Hannah Lindemoen/Morgan Nelson (CR) def. Jamie Barthel/Kelly Muckala (WDC) 6-0, 6-0