skip navigation

First Session Results in Section 8AA Track and Field

By Craig Olson, 06/09/21, 11:45PM CDT


The first session of the Section 8AA Track and Field Meet was held on Wednesday in Sartell with preliminary races being held in most events, but a few finals were determined as well.  Session Two of the Section 8AA Meet will be held in Fergus Falls on Saturday.  The top two finishers in each individual event, along with those meeting the state qualifying standards, and the top team in each relay event will compete at the State Track and Field Meet next week.  

Top performers for the Otter girls’ on Wednesday included Ainsley Hansen, who qualified for a spot in the State Meet next weekend in the High Jump.  She placed second with a jump of 5-2.  “To secure her place she had to compete in a jump off with Ava Thoennes,” reported Fergus Falls Head Coach Niki Welde.  “She really ended the jump off a beautiful jump.  We are looking forward to having one more meet to jump in this season.” 

Others on the medal stand for the Otters were Svea Smestad, who placed 4th in the Discus with a career best distance of 113-9.5, Emily Nuss who ran a personal best in the 3200 for an 8th place finish and Ainsley Hansen with an 8th place in the long jump.

Alexandria had two girls’ crowned as champions in their respective events, Aleah Miller in the 3200 meter run (11:30.81) and Sophia Vinje (122-06.50) in the discus.

Other Cardinals on the awards stand were Taelor Dummer with a fifth place in the 3200, Elena Fuglestad and Hailee Kent finishing sixth and seventh, respectively, in the long jump, and Amaria Sowada with a sixth place in the discus.

Here are the girls’ results of the finals held on Wednesday by event:
3200 Meter Run
1. Aleah Miller (ALEX) 11:30.81, 2. Gabby Witschen (MONT) 11:34.83, 3. Lauren Eilers (WILL) 11:43.47, 4. Elise Hofer (ROC) 11:57.79, 5. Taelor Dummer (ALEX) 11:59.32, 6. Ella Cole (MHD) 12:06.51, 7. Ingrid Buiceag-Arama (SART) 12:08.59, 8. Emily Nuss (FF) 12:11.01

High Jump
1. Ava Brogren (WILL) 5-04.00, 2. Ainsley Hansen (FF) 5-02.00, 3. Ava Thoennes (ROC) 5-02.00, 4. Grace Gunderson (DL) 5-02.00, 5. Lily Birks (BRD) 5-02.00, 6. Justus Floren (SRR) 5-02.00, 7. Sofia Villalobos (SCT) 5-01.00, 7. Bryn Greenwaldt (FOL) 5-01.00

Long Jump
1. Sam Christoffer (WILL) 18-04.00, 2. Justus Floren (SRR) 17-04.00, 3. Noelle Hackenmueller (SCA) 17-03.75, 4. Thalia Mendoza-brunotte (MONT) 17-03.25, 5. Emma Schwartz (SART) 17-00.50, 6. Elena Fuglestad (ALEX) 16-11.00, 7. Hailie Kent (ALEX) 16-06.00, 8. Ainsley Hansen (FF) 16-05.50

1. Sophia Vinje (ALEX) 122-06.50, 2. Hanna Caughey (BRD) 120-01, 3. Avery Quinn (WILL) 113-09.50, 4. Svea Smestad (FF) 113-09.50, 5. Rosie Anderson (MHD) 111-07, 6. Amaria Sowada (ALEX) 111-06, 7. Hailee Cullen (SRR) 108-06, 8. Regan Erdmann (MHD) 107-00

Fergus Falls sophomore Alexander Jensen claimed the Section 8AA Boys’ Shot Put title on Wednesday with a distance of 54-07.00, qualifying for the State AA Meet next week.  He will compete in the Discus on Saturday when the Otters host Session 2 of the Section 8AA Meet.

Jordan Lee made it to the medal stand in the pole vault, finishing fourth with a vault of 12-04.00.

William Heydt of Alexandria qualified for state in the triple jump (42-10.75), finishing as runner-up.


Here are the individual boys’ results from Session 1 on Wednesday, listed by event:
3200 Meter Run
1. Evan Myran (MHD) 9:31.30, 2. Samuel Brewer (SCA) 9:37.78, 3. Vincent Kaluza (ROC) 9:59.33, 4. Isaac Martel (MHD) 10:01.18, 5. Nate Alto (BEM) 10:06.28, 6. Elijah Harvala (MHD) 10:06.36, 7. Joel Brault (ALEX) 10:13.66, 8. Tyson Ricker (BECK) 10:15.52

Pole Vault
1. Jack Cella (MHD) 13-01.00, 2. Evan Flores (SART) 13-01.00, 3. Gabe Wagner (BRD) 12-10.00, 4. Jordan Lee (FF) 12-04.00, 5. Caden Carlson (WILL) 12-04.00, 6. Nicholas Huss (ALEX) 12-04.00, 7. Brandon Kempanich (SART) 11-10.00, 8. John Engelkes (SART) 11-10.00

Triple Jump
1. George Nyanforth (MHD) 44-01.00, 2. William Heydt (ALEX) 42-10.75, 3. Aaron Watland (WILL) 42-03.00, 4. Jakob Corrow (SCA) 41-05.00, 5. Anthony Mahowald (SART) 41-04.50, 6. Tyler Hansen (SCA) 41-02.00, 7. Arik Nikolas (SCT) 40-10.00, 8. Ryan Piepgras (FOL) 40-06.00

Shot Put
1. Alexander Jensen (FF) 54-07.00, 2. Dylan Gross (BRD) 53-04.00, 3. Andrew Albright (BRD) 51-02.00, 4. Joshua Russell (SCT) 50-01.00, 5. Thomas Myers (MHD) 50-00.00, 6. Jack Tieken (MHD) 47-10.00, 7. John Kaczor (SCT) 46-10.00, 8. Anthony Staryszak (MONT) 46-05.00