skip navigation

All-Conference Boys Basketball Team Named by Pheasant Conference

By Craig Olson, 03/15/20, 11:45PM CDT


The West Central Area boys’ basketball team finished the season with 27 wins and just two losses.  They were Pheasant Conference champions with a perfect 12-0 record and were Section 6A runners-up.  In recognition of their outstanding season Kraig Hunter was named the Pheasant Conference Coach of the Year and senior forward Jack VanKempen earned MVP honors.

Other Knights named to the All-Conference team were senior forward Gage Staples, junior guard Grant Beuckens and senior guard Jacob Bright.  Junior forward Tate Christenson was an honorable mention All-Section selection.

Brandon-Evansville seniors Keagan Schiele, Tanner Bitzan and Marshall Riedel were named to the team and sophomore Titus Fuller was an honorable mention choice.

Hillcrest is represented by senior Thomas Zwiers and junior Micah Foss.  Sophomore Ev Gould was an honorable mention choice.

Members of the Hancock Owls selected to the All-Conference team were sophomore Matt Thompson, junior Preston Rohloff and senior Daniel Milander.

Senior Matt Thielen from Wheaton/Herman-Norcross and Peter Treinen of Ortonville rounded out the All-Conference squad, while senior Trent Kuechenmeister of Ortonville and Wheaton/Herman-Norcross freshmen Dylan Bainbridge and Clint Determan completed the honorable mention list.  Thielen ended his career as the Warriors all-time scoring leader with 1,701 points and led the conference with 23.5 points per game.  Bainbridge led the conference in assists per game with 5.0 and Determan broke the Wheaton/Herman-Norcross single season steals record with 80.