skip navigation

Bulldogs Place Two Wrestlers at State Tournament

By Scott Hart, 03/01/20, 4:00PM CST


The OTC Bulldogs went 9-7 and placed two at the MSHSL State Wrestling Tournament held at the Excel Energy Center this past weekend. Laredo Bugbee, Brien Poser, and Hayden Hart were eliminated the first day, while Zane Swanson and Cian Buehler went on to place.

Laredo Bugbee, Brien Poser, and Hayden Hart all had tough quarter final brackets, which meant they had to likely win their first match to stay in the tournament. Laredo was defeated by Austin Kiecker (BOLD) 4-9, then was eliminated when Kiecker was defeated by #2 Kelvin Andrade-Ponce. Brien was defeated by #1 Trevor Janssen (BCLCB) fall 2:52 then was eliminated by Zach Fier (MI) 1-8. Hayden was defeated by Ramzee Molinaro (ACGC) 3-11, then was eliminated when Molinaro was defeated by #1 Charley Elwood (MEDF) 0-7.
Zane Swanson wrestled his way to a fourth place by defeating Jacob Bergsnev (BGM), Thor Kongsjord (DERI), Josh Steffen (CANBI), and Derek Werner (WRRC). His only two losses were to Tyler VanLuik (MIAR) by scores of 5-9 and 1-3 in the third place match.

Cian Buehler took third place with wins over Mason Novitski (RU) Jude Olson (FEBE), Kyle Blazek (CRIR), Tanner Berghuis (ACGC), and Dylan Nirk (WERA). His only loss was to Dylan Nirk in the second round, but he came back to defeat Nirk for 3rd place 3-0.

Up next for the Bulldogs will be the end of the season awards banquet, held in Battle Lake Sunday March 29 at 5:30

OTC Results at MSHSL State Wrestling Tournament at Excel Energy Center in St. Paul.

120 DNP Laredo Bugbee (OTC) defeated by Austin Kiecker (BOLD) 4-9

126 DNP Brien Poser (OTC) defeated by Trvor Janssen (BCLB) fall 2:52, defeated by Zach Fier (MI) 1-8

132 DNP Hayden Hart (OTC) defeated by Ramzee Molinaro (ACGC) 3-11

195 4th Zane Swanson (OTC) defeated Jacob Bergsnev (BGM) fall 1:07, defeated by Tyler Van Luik (MIAR) 5-9, defeated Thor Kongsjord (DERI) fall 3:16, defeated Josh Steffen (CANBI)2-13, defeated Derek Werner (WRRC) 7-1, defeated by Tyler VanLuik (MIAR) 1-3  

285 3rd Cian Buehler (OTC) defeated Mason Novitski (RU) fall :51 defeated by Dylan Nirk (WERA) fall 4:39, defeated Jude (FEBE) fall 1:58, defeated Kyle Blazek (CRIR) fall :14, defeated Tanner Berghuis (ACGC) 8-5, defeated Dylan Nirk (WERA) 3-0