skip navigation

Bulldogs Qualify Five Wrestlers for Class A State Meet

By Scott Hart, 02/23/20, 12:30PM CST


Laredo Bugbee, Hayden Hart, and Zane Swanson are Section 6A champs as the Ottertail Central Bulldogs placed thirteen wrestlers in the top five and are sending five to the MSHSL State tournament held February 27 – 29 at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul.

Laredo Bugbee (120) repeated as section 6A champion to advance to state. Brien Poser (126) became the first wrestler in OTC history to go through the wrestle backs and win a true second match to advance to the state tournament. Hayden Hart (132) pinned his way to a section title. Zane Swanson (195) advanced for his third time with a section title and Cian Buehler (285) is making his second trip to state by being runner up in his weight class.

Thirteen place winners in the top five is a new high mark for the Bulldogs, looking to have this experience to help carry the team next year. Other place winners at the Section 6A tournament were: 106 Kolby Peters-5th, 113 Cody Jacobs-4th, 138 Reed Leabo- 4th, 145 Logan Schleske -3rd, 152 Matt Hendricks -4th, 160 Nik Gardin – 4th, 170 Tristen Evavold -5th, and 220 Jace Janu – 4th..

The MSHSL state schedule is:  
Thursday, February 27 - 9:00am Class A team quarterfinals and individual registration Friday, February 28 - 9:00am Class A individual/4:00 pm Class A quarterfinals and wrestler backs

Saturday, February 29 - 9:00am all classes - consolation quarterfinals and semifinals/ 4:00pm all classes - championship round.

106 5th Kolby Peters (OTC) defeated Matt Knoll (BRECK) fall 1:18, defeated by Hunter Gruchow (WCA) fall 1:59, defeated by Nick Peters (NYM) 4-6 OT, defeated River McQuiston (WDC) fall :44

113 4th Cody Jacobs (OTC) defeated Adam Lohse (WCA) fall 2:57, Eli Larson (BW) fall 4:42, defeated Chris Yoder (NYM) 8-5, defeated by Aiden Hauck (BRNS) fall 5:08

120 1st Laredo Bugbee (OTC) defeated Rafael Caudillo (PRA) fall :32, defeated Patrick Forcier (BW) 14-0, defeated Simon Snyder (WDC) 7-5

126 2nd Brien Poser (OTC) defeated Tommy Thach (PR) 11-6, defeated by Dan Niemi (NYM) fall fall 5:52, defeated Ashton Danner (WCA) 8-3, defeated Reese Thompson (BHVPP) 10-8, defeated Mason Snyder (WDC) 5-1

132 1st  Hayden Hart (OTC) defeated Carter Johnson (PR) fall :45, defeated Jace Olson (BW) fall :20

138 4th Reed Leabo(OTC) defeated Will Danilyuk (S/M)10-9,  defeated by Anthony Sykora  (WCA) fall 2:47, defeated Jacob Guck (NYM) fall 3:50, defeated Sebastian Centeno (PR) 3-2

145 3rd Logan Schleske (OTC) defeated Jacob Adelman (BW) 9-6, defeated by Aidan Ruddy (BRK) 4-2, defeated Kaleb Getz (WCA) fall 6:0, defeated Logen Weite (S/M) fall 5:36, defeated by Gabe Geiser (NYM) fall 5:41

152 4th Matt Hendricks (OTC) defeated Tanner Kadmas (BRNS) 9-3, defeated by Matt Zieball (PR) 0-1, defeated Brock Peterson (BHVPP) 11-0, defeated by Tanner Kadmas (BRNS) 3-4

160 4th  Nik Gardin (OTC) defeated Max Dykhoff (PR) 7-5, defeated by Owen Bjerga (S/M) fall 1:26, defeated Bret Duncan (WCA) 11-3, defead by Bren Salo (NYM) 0-3

170 5th Tristen Evavold (OTC) defeated by Hunter Dean (BHVPP) fall 3:34, defeated Alex Giza (S/M) fall 1:16, defeated by John Ziebell (PR) 4-8, defeated Jon Rinerson (NYM) fall 1:32 

182 DNP Will Ehlert (OTC) defeated by Cody Wheeler (WDC) fall :54, defeated Noah Kapenga (PR) fall 1:52

195 1st Zane Swanson (OTC) defeated Deklin Goeden (WCA) f all 1:40, defeated Elliot Mann (NYM) 6-0

220 4th Jace Janu (OTC) defeated by Devin Stone (WCA) 3-5, defeated Tobias Elliot (BRNS) fall 2:35, defeated Issac Ebnet (BW) 8-5, defeated by Devin Stone (WCA) 1-6

285 2nd Cian Buehler (OTC) defeated Alex Bazoff (BW) fall :13, defeated Cole Winkels (S/M) fall :07, defeated by Craig Orlando (BHVPP) 0-1, defeated Jacob Willitz (PR)fall 1:54