skip navigation

OTC Wrestlers Lose by One Point in Section 6A Semifinal Match

By Craig Olson, 02/16/20, 7:45AM CST


The Ottertail Central Bulldog wrestling team season ended on Friday at the Section 6A Final Four held in Underwood.  

The Bulldogs won the quarter final match against Staples/Motley 66-11. The Bulldogs who were the #3 seed then faced the #2 seed WCA Knights in the semifinals of the Section 6A Final Four. The other semifinals were #1 BHVPP vs #5 NYM. The matches were very competitive and were going to be decided by getting bonus points and not giving up bonus points. At one point during the semifinals, both teams scores were tied 21-21. In the end the Bulldogs fell to WCA 33-34 and NYM fell to BHVPP 24-51. The defending champions BHVPP then defeated WCA 39-21 in the finals.

OTC ended the year as a team 13-8, and for the third year in a row the team made the final four of the section tournaments. This is a first in the history of the OTC Bulldog Wrestling program. Up next for the Bulldogs is the Section 6A individual tournament, which will be held at the Wadena-Deer Creek HS Saturday, February 22. Wrestling will start at 10:00 am.

 #3 OTC 66, #6 Staples/Motley 11

106 Kolby Peters (OTC) defeated Aiden Winter (S/M) fall 3:33

113 Cody Jacobes  (OTC) defeated Jason Trantina (S/M) fall 2:29

120 Laredo Bugbee (OTC) defeated Rafael Caudille (S/M) fall 2:23  

126 Brien Poser (OTC) received a forfeit  

132 Hayden Hart (OTC) received a forfeit

138 Reed Leabo (OTC) defeated Will Danilyuk (S/M) 8-4  

145 Logan Schleske (OTC) defeated Conrad Dobson (S/M) fall 3:34

152 Matt Hendricks (OTC) defeated Sam Jennissen (S/M) fall :21    

160 Nik Gardin (OTC) defeated Logan Wiete (S/M) 1-0

170 Tristan Evavold (OTC) defeated by Own Bjerga (S/M) 4-19

182 Will Ehlert (OTC) defeated by Alex Giza (S/M) fall 2:54

195 Chase Janu (OTC) received a forfeit

220 Zane Swanson (OTC) defeated Emmitt Winkles (S/M) fall 1:18 

285 Cian Buehler (OTC) defeated Cole Winkles (S/M) fall :45

 #3 OTC 33, #2 WCA 34

106 Kolby Peters (OTC) defeated by Adam Lohse (WCA) fall 2:51

113 Cody Jacobs (OTC) defeated by Hunter Gruchow (WCA) fall 2:29

120 Laredo Bugbee (OTC) defeated Solomon Wales (WCA) fall 1:07   

126 Brien Poser (OTC) defeated by Ashton Danner (WCA) fall 3:42

132 Hayden Hart (OTC) defeated Dirk Goeden (WCA) fall :30

138 Reed Leabo (OTC) defeated by Anthony Sykora (WCA) 8-10  

145 Logan Schleske (OTC) defeated Caleb Getz (WCA) fall 4:55  

152 Matt Hendricks (OTC) defeated Kade Olson (WCA) 9-3 

160 Nik Gardin (OTC) defeated Jordan Lohse (WCA) 0-3  

170 Noah Schleske (OTC) defeated by Nathaniel Kisgen (WCA) 2-4 
182 Tristan Evavold (OTC) defeated by Colton Linquist (WCA) 3-6

195 Chase Janu (OTC) defeated by Deklin Goedan (WCA) 2-10

220 Zane Swanson (OTC) defeated Justin Blascuk (WCA) fall :25     

285 Cian Buehler (OTC) defeated Devin Stone (WCA) fall 5:24