skip navigation

Fergus Falls Squirt C's Compete at Frozen Tundra Tournament

By Shelby Peterson, 01/16/20, 10:30AM CST


The Fergus Falls Squirt C hockey team hosted the Frozen Tundra Hockey tournament this past weekend here at the Fergus Falls Hockey arena. The tournament consisted of 6 teams; 3 teams from Minnesota, 2 teams from North Dakota and 1 team from Canada.

Brody Nelson Scores a Goal. (PHOTO PROVIDED)

Friday January 10th the Otters played against Osseo-Maple Grove. The Otters scored a total of 4 goals in the second period, the first by Bobby Baker assisted by Brody Nelson and Blaine Cederberg, the second and third goals by Aadreyan Lopez and the fourth by Corban Proffit. In the third period 1 goal was scored by Nelson assisted by Cederberg and Baker. The Otters won 5-2.

Saturday the Otters lost 2 games, but made a comeback Sunday winning their final game against St Vital (Winnipeg) Manitoba. On Sunday during the first period, the Otters scored 2 goals- the first by Ethan Hovland assisted by Lopez and the second by Baker assisted by Proffit. During the second period the Otters scored 5 goals, one by Ty Jyrkas, 2 by Parker Kantrud with assist of Hovland and 2 by Baker with assists by Keaton Babolian, Aadreyan Lopez and Cameron Peterson. The Otters won 7-1.

Mandan Black Squirt C's won the tournament championship.

The Fergus Falls Squirt C Otters are sponsored by MN Motor Company.