skip navigation

Several Rockets Receive Post Season Football Recognition

By Craig Olson, 11/18/19, 1:45PM CST


Several Underwood football players have received post season honors following their 9-2 season which culminated with a Section 6A championship and a state quarterfinal appearance.

Nik Gardin, Wyatt Thorson, Zane Swanson, Winston Heifort, Logan Aune and Tyson Rieken were named to the Section 6A All-Section team.

All Northwest District, South Sub-District honors went to Tim DeVaney, Heifort, Thorson, Gardin and Swanson.

Wyatt Thorson was named the Defensive Lineman of the Year for the Sub-District and Zane Swanson was chosen as Offensive Player of the Year.

Honorable Mention Selections were Rieken, Aune and Slade Moore.

Underwood Head Coach Chuck Ross was named the South Sub-District Coach of the Year.

Liam Sytsma of Pelican Rapids was named the Most Valuable Offensive Lineman, Brett Graham of Frazee was the Defensive Player of the Year, and Logan Small of New York Mills was selected as Special Teams Player of the Year.

Here are the other South Sub-District selections by team.

Pelican Rapids – McHale Korf (JR, QB/DB), Liam Sytsma (JR, OT/DE), Johnny Ziebell (JR, FB/LB) and Jayden Rutherford (JR, RB/DB)
Honorable Mention – Logan Fahje (JR), Weston Funk (JR), Nick Haugrud (SO)

New York Mills – Logan Small (SR, RB/S), Daunte Leiran (JR, RB/LB), Hunter Zerr (SR, T/DE)
Honorable Mention – Elliot Mann (SR), Jonah Johnson (SO), Gabe Geiser (SR)

Frazee – Brett Graham (SR, OL/MLB), Sam Winn (JR, OL/DE), Broden Fleisher (JR, WR/FS), Mason Newling (SR, WR/SS)
Honorable Mention – Luke Tweeton (SR), Cole Fleisher (SR), Caleb DeGroat (SR)

Wadena-Deer Creek – Payton Rondestvedt (SO, QB/LB), Cody Wheeler (SR, OL/LB)
Honorable Mention – Aiden Larson (JR), Zach Shaw (JR)